It’s been a year … definitely.

A year ago today I wrote my first blog post and I spent time saying goodbye and finishing my packing. I remember that day vividly but it seems a world away and I guess in some ways it is. This year, I got to see so much and at times understand so little. I could tell stories for hours. People have asked me since I returned home, how have you changed? A tough question and one that I’m not really sure how to answer yet, I think time will let that answer be known… What I do know for sure is through all the ups and downs of an amazing year, repeatedly, it’s been the people. Varied and textured, supportive and a challenge, it’s the people I think about, reflect on and for whom I pray. I hope that has come through my blog.  The idea that people are more than an idea, a culture, neighbors or enemies but we are all humans breathing the same air, drinking the same water and inhabiting the same earth. We might treat life and each other differently but we are all here whether any one person or group likes that or not … we are all here.

Thank you for traveling with me this year and reading and considering my reflections. I write this not because I want to stop thinking or stop blogging but because it’s time to mark time.  In the upcoming weeks and months I may post some more reflections and pictures, maybe under this blog title maybe another, but for now I turn my focus to a new adventure, the adventure of finding a call.  I leave you with some (not all) of the faces that will never leave me. Many blessings to you!

9 thoughts on “It’s been a year … definitely.

  1. Thank you so much for sharing your experiences and wisdom with us throughout the year. I would like to use the last sentence of your first paragraph as a quote to engage my students in conversation in my service-learning class.

  2. I’m so happy for this year on your life. Continual blessings from it.

    peace & joy,

    Gary

    Sent from my iPad

    On Aug 13, 2012,

  3. Now comes the hard part. Finding a call that will accept you for your worldview and your status as a world traveler.Some will be suspect of this woman who has eaten with ‘sinners’ i.e. non-American Christians. Some will be jealous and express that through surliness when you mention your experiences in your communications with the parish, some will think you a snob and/or too worldly to be a good pastor. AND some will embrace you for all you are, thankful that you can bring a sense of global ministry to a local church setting. May you find this type of Call. The type of Call that can embrace you and love you and appreciate you for all that you are becoming. The type of Call that will allow you to experience deeply and fully a ministry in a new part of the WORLD even if that place in the world is in a little town south of Rochester. Hope and Peace, Debra Jene Collum

  4. You have had such a blessed year, Kirsten. And your wonderful presence has blessed many lives. I look forward to watching the blessings unfold for you in the coming weeks… months… years.

Leave a comment