Knowing in Mysore

“My what?” “Mysore, Mysore, you have to go to Mysore.” “OooooOk.”

My Lonely Planet South India guidebook does point out the Mysore Palace as one of the top 10 South India highlights … So why not? Mysore it is.

There are a number of architectural draws in Mysore; the Mysore Palace by day or night,

the Sri Chamundeswari Temple on top of Chamundi Hill,St Philomen’a Cathedral or even the Art Gallery. I saw them all, they were beautiful but I was drawn to the people around them much more… The grandness of architecture, though I appreciate its beauty and even brilliance, always begs me to ask; so I understand the history of the people who lived here or worked here, what about the people who built it? What are their stories? What would they say to this monument, this church, this temple? Did it define their lives, enhance it? Or did it alter it or consume it?

Those stories are often difficult to find, they are lost in the vagueness of someone else’s history, somewhere beyond what we might wonder and what we’ll never know.  The people visiting these places along with me and those currently making a living in their shadow seem less of a mystery. I might wonder about them but I also know with some confidence that…

…this father-son team make some awesome street food.

…this couple is in love.

…these school kids are just as lost as any school kids on a field trip, this trip just happens to be to the temple.

…everyone gets bored at work. (Hindu Priest standing outside the Temple)

…if you stand some were long enough with a camera pointed at you, someone will ask if they can have their picture “snapped” with you…

2 thoughts on “Knowing in Mysore

    • Amy,
      Thanks for your kind words! I am glad you are enjoying the blog, it’s probably obvious that I am truly enjoying my time as well. It will be fun to share stories in person some day too!

Leave a Reply

