Bangalore – UTC

Its gorgeous here. It feels slightly like being in a fairy tale. Gurukul was surrounded by the city and by noise, UTC (United Theological College) is more like buildings amidst the gardens…

But lest you think this is a sleepy place, don’t go so fast. I think it is going to be quite interesting to be here. The first professor I met face-to-face was Dr Evangeline Rajkumar, one of the most articulate feminist theologians I have met anywhere. I will be sitting in her lectures while I am here. How interesting to be in a country defined by patriarchy and raise yourself up to be a voice that questions every tradition and every understanding that keeps patriarchy as the standard. She was even featured in a national magazine here this month, One. Check her out.

6 thoughts on “Bangalore – UTC

  1. Hi Kirsten,
    I am enjoying your blog and sending prayers for your ministry as you explore faith. I have been thinking of you and then yesterday I opened the Luther Sem magazine to find your smiling face in the photo and article about the J-term course here in Las Vegas that you were part of last January. We have fond memories of you and feel blessed to have gotten to know you a bit while here. We all build each others faith. Enjoy where the Spirit takes you next.
    Blessings,
    Cheryl

    • Cheryl
      Thank you for your kind words! I very much appreciate your prayers and your support. My time in India so far has been an absolute gift as I meet many new friends and as I wrestle with the things I see and experience. It is amazing what getting out of one’s environment can do to your perspective.
      Many Blessings!
      Kirsten

Leave a Reply

