Yeh hai India meri Jaan…

It’s a Hindi phrase. I don’t know the source, but a new friend of mind uses it often. “This is India my love.” And it is…

No matter what you think of India, its incredible beauty and the things that break your heart, no matter what scares you or even horrifies you … this is India. No way around it, what you see is what you get, or is it?

There is a rhythm to India that can’t be fought. Take traffic for example. I am sure that those of you who have never been here or to another country like it would at times stand in dazed confusion if not paralysis when watching the traffic or attempting to cross the street, I know I have. But you can’t do that, you can’t fight the rhythm. There is too much force behind it. And the rhythm is something like when you move, you move and when you sit, you sit. A commanding quick- paced, “Come, come, come.” is what I hear from my new friends here as we walk and board buses to discover areas of the city I have not seen and realities of life I have not personally encountered.

And yes I stood there paralyzed from a distance as these two guys worked and the traffic just worked its way around them.

Come, come, come …This is India …

One thought on “Yeh hai India meri Jaan…

Leave a Reply

